Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Chip Whoopie Pies

Staying in the Halloween spirit, I decided to bake a seasonal treat to enjoy this weekend. I didn’t have time to run to the store for ingredients, but happened to have a great pumpkin spice mix on hand that I modified by adding specialty milk and dark chocolate chopped into little chunks. The mix also included a filling mix starter as well, so in no time I had delicious pumpkin whoopie pies (courtesy of my new whoopie pie pan) with a vanilla cream cheese frosted center. The addition of the milk and dark chocolate offset the spiciness of the cake and the sweetness of the frosting nicely. Next time I might try a recipe from scratch, but in a crunch these gave me the result I wanted and time to get other things done – like adding the finishing touches to my costume.

This entry was posted in food, home, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Chip Whoopie Pies

  1. julie1872 says:

    fun, and in the Halloween spirit!

  2. Pingback: Top of the Muffin to you | easydoesitstyle

Leave a Reply

