525,600 minutes

How do you measure, measure a year?

In daylights, in sunsets
In midnights, in cups of coffee
In inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife
In five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes
How do you measure a year in the life?

How about love?….

(“Seasons of Love,” Rent) 

Looking back on 2011, as sometimes only a song can say, how do you measure a year? This year has been full of many firsts, many changes, and many surprises for me.
I finally started my blog that I’ve talked about for so long – many hours go into generating content every week, but it’s fulfilling to have an outlet for my creativity and advice.
I spent almost the entire year earning a living as a freelancer, which was very liberating and exhausting at the same time. Liberating to plan my own work schedule, but exhausting when I would some days work for 18 hours a day on several different projects.
And of course, most importantly, I am now engaged to my best friend. I almost can’t imagine how things could get better than that, but I’m sure in 2012 on my wedding day I will realize just how amazing love can be. So how am I measuring 2011? I’ll agree with Rent and say love…

This entry was posted in lifestyle, wedding and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 525,600 minutes

  1. julie1872 says:

    beautiful…… brings tears to my eyes.

  2. AmyH says:

    Beautifully said!

Leave a Reply

