$25,000 sunglasses?!

Last year I made a style resolution to purchase for quality over quantity – that is, buy a few “nicer” items rather than lots of poor-quality but cheap clothes. Hmmm…given my penchant for Old Navy and H&M I’m not sure I quite followed that resolution. But I did buy fewer things, so I give myself a little credit there.

However, some people take it to the extreme when considering items “quality” just because they are more expensive. I came across this list a week or so ago and just had to share – The Most Outrageously Expensive Fashion Items of 2011 (from Stylelist.com):

Victoria's Secret $2.5 million bra

  1. Marilyn Monroe’s iconic white dress from “The Seven-Year Itch” – $4.6 million
  2. The Victoria’s Secret 2011 Secret Fantasy Treasure Bra – $2.5 million
  3. DKNY Golden Delicious fragrance bottle – $1 million
  4. Hermes Birkin Bag (Exceptional Collection Shiny Rouge H Porosus Crocodile 30 cm Birkin Bag with Solid 18K White Gold & Diamond Hardware) sold at an auction $203,150
  5. The Row’s alligator bag – $39,000
  6. Roger Vivier pump from 1962 sold at an auction – $26,385
  7. 24-karat-gold shoelaces by Mr. Kennedy – $19,000
  8. Chipkos flip-flops, hand-painted by L.A. artist David Palmer – $18,000
  9. Gucci bike – $14,000
  10. 24-karat-gold necktie – $8,500

$19,000 24-karat-gold shoelaces

To see the complete slide show with item details, click here. I can’t really imagine who needs 24-karat-gold shoelaces or $18,000 flip-flops, but it’s fun to just look at these outlandish items. Actually, I know exactly who would own these…if you’ve been watching Real Housewives of Beverly Hills, you might have seen Dana Wilkey bragging about her outrageously priced sunglasses:


I think this year my style resolution might center more around purging my closet of clothing I don’t wear so I can see all of the clothes I really do love better, making it easier to get ready in the morning. I find when doing so I actually re-discover some pieces as well and they become new favorites. What are your style resolutions for 2012?

This entry was posted in clothes, fashion, lifestyle, shopping, style and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to $25,000 sunglasses?!

  1. Leah says:

    I want the Gucci bike!!!!!

  2. The shoelaces are just ridiculous! I’ve also promised myself on occasion to concentrate on quality over quantity, but you know what, some of the high end stuff is not necessarily better quality. I have two pairs of jeans I bought recently: a Burberry Brit pair that just got a hole in the seam after two months, and some kick-ass flares from the Gap that look great and get loads of compliments. I just can’t resist the Gap or BR, you know?

    http://www.cakesandshakes.wordpress.com

  3. Lisa says:

    Miss V, please don’t hesitate to send any of your closet cast-offs my way 🙂

  4. jene26 says:

    Yes, those are crazy purchases. Although I love the style of Old Navy, and the price, I’ve noticed their quality is going down hill-fast. If you wash one of their tshirts, its a goner! Sigh….

Leave a Reply

