Lip Service: 5 Must-Have Lip Products

Lip products are like shoes to girls – you can never seem to have too many, and there’s always an excuse for more. But when do you reach the point where it just might be time to re-evaluate that overflowing drawer of makeup?

I had actually purged my collection of glosses, lipsticks, and chapsticks right before I moved back in August, and still have managed to accumulate 28…wait, 29 (just found another in my purse). Is there really a need for 29 different types of lip product? Granted, many I somehow managed to get for free for one reason or another (and why turn down free stuff?!), but I definitely don’t use all of them on a regular basis.

My co-worker and I were discussing this the other day when she dumped out five glosses from her purse and said she had three more in her desk. I only had a couple that day because I had my little cross-body purse with me. Why do we do this? I think it boils down to the fact that people want “latest and greatest” product. “Oh, you say it’s anti-aging? It will plump my lips? It has flecks of real gold in it? I can get vitamins through it?” It’s tempting, but in my opinion, a woman really only needs five types of lip products:

  1. A Chapstick/Lip balm (Cherry Carmex tube, SPF 15) – something to moisturize and protect lips (added SPF is always a plus)
  2. A Neutral Day Gloss (Nars Lipgloss in Turkish Delight) – an everyday gloss close to your natural lip color
  3. A Shimmery/Sparkly Gloss (Being True Satin Lip Shine in Pretty) – a little sparkle to add dimension to a matte lipstick or just for fun (bonus: this gloss has peppermint and caffeine to plump lips)
  4. A Fun Night Color (Nars Lipgloss in Angelika) – A bright pop of color for evening (I’ve turned many friends onto this bright pink gloss)
  5. A Classic Red Lipstick (Vincent Longo Rejuvenating Velvet Riche Lipstick in Ignition) – A bold red that fits your skin tone for those nights you just need a little extra (I spent an hour running around Sephora one day testing every shade to find this red)

That being said, I’ve really been wanting a coconut-flavored gloss…and I think Nars has a new lip gloss line…

This entry was posted in beauty, shopping and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lip Service: 5 Must-Have Lip Products

  1. Alex French says:

    Hmmm, as mentioned “co-worker’, let me count….EOS chapstick, Bare Escentuals Buxom gloss, Juice Beauty gloss, Alba lip balm, Sephora sparkle gloss and a Benefit her glossiness. An that’s just today’s purse, not counting desk drawer or home bathroom counter. Too many?

  2. Blondie says:

    I have a Burt’s Bees chapstick and Benefit pink sparkle gloss in my purse, a Lipsmackers chapstick on my nightstand, and an Ulta red lipstick in my makeup box that I never use. Too little? Lol!

Leave a Reply

